Thursday, September 29, 2016

You (You #1) by Caroline Kepnes - Review


❋ ❋ ❋ ❋ 

When Guinevere Beck, a student working on her MFA in writing, walks into the bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he realizes he needs to get to know her, so he does the same thing any sane person would do and Googles the name on her credit card. She's easy to find and he learns a lot from her public social media profiles. He plans a "chance encounter" with her at a bar he knows she'll be visiting. Joe does all he can to invisibly influence her life and make sure he's there waiting in the wings to swoop in at the perfect time. As he insinuates himself into her life and begins to invisibly take control, going from stalker to Beck's perfect boyfriend. And, he'll do anything to keep remove all obstacles that stand in the way of their happiness, even commit murder.

You by Caroline Kepnes is one of my favorite reads of the 2016! I was thoroughly engrossed in Joe and Beck's story, not to mention the excellent production of the audiobook. It's absolutely addicting that would be perfect for fans of Gone Girl. I don't think I've ever read a book from the perspective of a homicidal maniac with major stalker tendecies, and I didn't expect to like it so much. Joe is a very likable character - he's clever, witty, and quite charming - you know, when he isn't being an absolute psycho. Plus, he gets bonus points for being a book nerd and working in a book store. He totally makes you want to sympathize with him. The further you get into the story, the more twisted you learn Joe is and it is absolutely chilling as you really begin to piece everything together. The novel offers twist after mind bending twist that I didn't see coming and it kept me glued to my earbuds. I didn't want to stop listening at any point.


As I mentioned earlier, the audiobook really adds a worthwhile element to it. Santino Fontana easily earns a full star providing Joe's voice. If you haven't tried this novel yet, you need to listen to it on audio just so you can hear his performance. He convincingly portrays all of the things Joe becomes for Beck and a chillingly vicious villain, and he rarely even has to raise his voice. On a side note, Fontana is also the actor who provided the voice of Hans on Frozen, which in a weird way kind of makes sense.

Overall, You by Caroline Kepnes is a twisty, fast-paced thriller that is an absolute must-read. I highly recommend it in any format, but the audiobook is especially worthwhile due to the strength of the narrator, Santino Fontana. I can't wait to listen to the sequel, Hidden Bodies.



I listened to this audiobook from September 1 - 8, 2016 and my review is also on Goodreads.

8 comments:

  1. Am I the only one who doesn't google people ?
    Anyway, I loved how creepy this book is. What I loved the most is how Joe thinks crazy things like it's completely normal haha
    Great review !

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know right - he thinks he's absolutely fine! :)

      Thanks Lys!

      Delete
  2. Hooray! I'm glad you loved this one so much. I did too. Very creepy and I love that it's from Joes POV!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good to know! :) Have you read the sequel? It has to be good!

      Delete
  3. I couldn't finish this book. I made it about 40% in but started getting nightmares. Way too creepy for me. Very well written and compelling, but it just scared me way too much.

    ReplyDelete
  4. This isn't really my genre but oh man does it sound good! I think I'll check it out of my library and give it a try.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hope you get to it soon - especially the audiobook!

      Delete