Skip to main content

Mini Reviews - Black Sun (ARC), Pleasant Grove, & Rural Voices (ARC)

Happy Saturday everyone!  Today, I'm sharing three mini reviews - Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky#1) by Rebecca Roanhorse (ARC, available October 13, 2020), Pleasant Grove by Jason Price, and Rural Voices: 15 Authors Challenge Assumptions About Small-Town America edited by Nora Shalaway Carpenter (ARC, available October 13, 2020).  I received the ARCs from NetGalley and Pleasant Grove from the author in exchange for honest reviews.  Read on to see my thoughts:

 ❋   

Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky #1) by Rebecca Roanhorse was hands down one of my highly anticipated novels of the entire year. Rebecca Roanhorse has quickly become one of my favorite authors with The Sixth World series and her newest series opener did not disappoint in the least. As far as I'm concerned, it is a masterpiece and an absolute must read. It definitely has a little something for everyone. I couldn't get enough of the cast of characters who feel like they could walk right off the page, the outstanding world-building, and of course the magic. I can officially say that I've never quite read a fantasy novel quite like it and I'm quite certain it's the first novel I've read that's inspired by the civilizations of the Pre-Columbian Americas as well. I know my review isn't doing this novel justice, but what I'm really trying to say is YOU NEED TO READ IT! 

My review is also on Goodreads.



 ❋  

Pleasant Grove
by Jason Price is a delightful Middle Grade sci-fi novel with just the right amount of horror and mystery. It's nearly a perfect read for the spooky season. Plus, given the whole lockdown element that made it feel even more suitable for these times. This novel takes a little while to really get going but once it does it doesn't let up and it really keeps you hanging on to the edge of your seat. I couldn't put it down. I was eagerly along for the ride alongside Agnes and company. Overall, this book is perfect for fans of Stranger Things, 1980s Steven Spielberg movies, and Rod Serling's The Twilight Zone. I'm looking forward to seeing more of what Jason Price comes up with in the future. 

My review is also on Goodreads.



 ❋ 

Rural Voices: 15 Authors Challenge Assumptions About Small-Town America edited by Nora Shalaway Carpenter was one of my highly anticipated books of the month. Maybe that's because I grew up in the country on a farm. You don't see a whole lot of rural settings let alone farms and the characters who live there in YA, and if you they seem to be stereotypical or misunderstood more often than not. I can probably count on one hand how many I've read that have really felt accurate with relatable characters. Given the title of this YA anthology I had high expectations although I wasn't already familiar with any of the authors. In the end, the stories ended up being a mixed bag. Maybe I was expecting too much. None of them really did anything surprising from my point of view and that's probably just because of my own experience. Overall, though, I have a feeling that this would certainly be a worthwhile if you've never lived or spent a significant amount of time in a rural area. 

My review is also on Goodreads.


Have you read or are you looking forward to any of these books?  What are you reading this weekend?  As always, thanks for visiting my blog and perhaps even commenting down below!

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings): Master Assassins (The Fire Sacrament #1) by Robert V.S. Redick

Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Fall 2021 TBR

The Nightmare Before Christmas Book Tag