Skip to main content

Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books I Read In 2021

Happy Tuesday everyone!  Welcome to the Top Ten Tuesday now hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.  This week's topic is Best Books I Read In 2021.  This was a really difficult list to put together because I read a lot of great books this year, but these are the books that really stood out to me the most.  Here we go, in alphabetical order:

All Creatures Great and Small (All Creatures Great and Small #1-2) by James Herriot - I loved the tv adaptation of this, and I'm glad I decided to try the original memoir that it's based on.  It's a real treat and really hit the spot.  Plus, the audiobook is narrated by Nicholas Ralph, who plays James Herriot in the show.

All of Us Villains (All of Us Villains #1) by Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman - I loved the style of this novel and I absolutely can't wait to the sequel.

The Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey - Sarah Gailey is quickly becoming one of my favorites and this sci-fi thriller novel is not one to be missed!

The Galaxy, and the Ground Within (Wayfarers #4) by Becky Chambers - This whole series has been excellent, but I'd say this installment is easily the best so far.

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sanchez - I had been putting this YA contemporary off for years, but it easily made my best of list 4 years after it was originally released.

Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo - I can't describe just how invested I was in this YA LGBTQ+ historical fiction novel set in the 1950s.  If you haven't read this I highly recommend this, especially on audiobook.

Out of House and Home (Fred, the Vampire Accountant #7) by Drew Hayes - This whole series has been great, but each installment just seems to outdo the previous.  If you're looking for a fun urban fantasy with a great sense of humor, you have to start this series.  Plus, Fred has quickly become one of my favorite literary vampires and Kirby Heyborne's narration was excellent.

Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir - Everything Weir has written has been outstanding, but I'd say this is his best yet.  By the way, Rocky might just be my favorite new to me character of the year.

The Silver Blonde by Elizabeth Ross - This 1946 set YA historical noir-tinged mystery was such a pleasant surprise.  The world-building is top notch and it has great characters as well.  This book definitely deserves as much love as it can get.

The Three Locks (Sherlock Holmes Adventure #4) by Bonnie MacBird - This series has been a must read for fans of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson, but this most recent installment took it to the next level.  If you're  fan of Jeremy Brett and Robert Downey Jr.'s Sherlock and David Burke and Jude Law's Watson (with a dash of Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman), you need to try Bonnie MacBird's take on the classic detective.



What have been some of your best reads of 2021?  Have you read any of these books?  As always, thanks for visiting my blog and perhaps even commenting down below!

Comments

  1. I haven't heard of any of these (other than Project Hail Mary), but after looking up Fred, the Vampire Accountant, I had to add the first book in the series to my TBR.

    Pam @ Read! Bake! Create!
    https://readbakecreate.com/the-10-best-books-i-read-in-2021/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Fred is one of my favorite vampire characters! :) I hope you enjoy.

      Delete
  2. I have All Creatures Great and Small on my bookshelf but have never read it. https://cindysbookcorner.blogspot.com/2021/12/top-ten-tuesday-cover-love.html

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wait, there's a series about a Vampire Accountant?! Haha, sounds great. And I also want to check out that Herriot show, it's been years since I read All Creatures Great and Small.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes and it is awesome. The audiobook production if you listen to it is fantastic. I hope you enjoy. I can't wait for season 2 of All Creatures Great and Small.

      Delete
  4. I found Project Hail Mary to be a tad underwhelming but happy to see you enjoyed it. Happy reading. My TTT https://readwithstefani.com/the-best-10-books-i-read-in-2021/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There was definitely a lot to live up too with it, that's for sure.

      Delete
  5. The Echo Wife is on my TBR so I'm happy to see you enjoyed it.

    Kate @ bitchbookshelf.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I started but didn't finish THE LAST NIGHT AT THE TELEGRAPH CLUB because I had to return it to the library. Guess I'd best get it back. Thanks for the reminder. My 2021 Favorites

    ReplyDelete
  7. My dad used to read the James Herriot books to me when I was a kid and I loved them so much (also a big fan of the TV adaptation with Nicholas Ralph!). All of Us Villains is on my TBR and I can't wait to read it.
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2021/12/28/top-ten-tuesday-348/

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Happy reading - and yay! Season 2 looks like it's going to be great.

      Delete
  8. I didn't like the new All Creatures Great & Small series quite as much as the original, but what an audiobook treat for anyone who did! Those books are some of my all-time favorites.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I haven't seen the original show, but I might have to try it. :)

      Delete
  9. I think Project Hail Mary made so many lists I've seen today, for good reason. The Echo Wife just missed my list, I had to cut it off somewhere, but I did love it😁

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. For sure!

      It was a tough call - I read so many great books this year. :)

      Delete
  10. One of my regrets is not getting to Last Night at the Telegraph Club. Glad to hear it's got a great audiobook. I might go that route. Happy New Year, Lauren!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I loved Last Night at the Telegraph Club! It's going to be on my list too if I ever get it done. :)

    Chambers *nods* and I want to read the Echo Wife.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I loved Project Hail Mary, too! I love Becky Chambers - I'm hoping to catch up on the rest of the Wayfarer books soon.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I've been meaning to pick up I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter. Great looking list!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I am copying your list straight into my wish list. :-) Seriously though, several of your titles are on my TBR or wish list already and seeing them make so many favorites list has me wanting to read them more. I read my first Becky Chambers book this year and it made my top ten list. I look forward to reading more by her. I hope you have a great 2022!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I'd like to read I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sanchez at some point.

    My TTT list.

    ReplyDelete
  16. Oooh, I really need to read All of Us Villains still! I'm so behind on 2021 releases, but that book has always sounded amazing to me. I loved Project Hail Mary, too! Rocky, ftw.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I LOVED Last Night at the Telegraph Club- it made my 2020 list, but I should have left it for this year heh. I also loved Project Hail Mary, which DID make my list! And All Of Us Villains and Echo Wife were great, too!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Wyrd & Wonder 2024 - The Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings): Straight on Till Morning by Liz Braswell

Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Wishes 2024

Wyrd & Wonder 2024 - Top Ten Tuesday: Upcoming Fantasy Releases I'm Looking Forward To