Skip to main content

Virtual Rebel: Time To Play The Game For Real by J.Z. Pitts - Review (ARC)

 ❋  

I received an ARC from Reedsy Discovery in exchange for an honest review. 

Virtual Rebel: Time To Play The Game For Real by J.Z. Pitts is such a fun and engaging new science fiction novel. I wasn't at all familiar with the author or his style, but this story hooked me right from the very beginning. This story follows Ava who lives in a world ruled by aliens. That little aspect of her day to day life doesn't bother her so much considering how much she loves the virtual reality program called The Haven. There's so much that it offers from exploration, fighting monsters, and hanging out with her friends. Even if the world doesn't look so bright outside, she always has The Haven. Then, everything changes when her dad gets arrested as a rebel and she has to do everything she can to save his life, even unravelling the secrets of The Haven itself.

It's been a little while since I've read a story where so much of it is set in a virtual reality world. The author does a great job of balancing the characters with the fast paced action and adventure aspect of the story. I was also pleasantly surprised by the physical disability representation. It's not often enough that I have the opportunity to read a genre novel featuring main character that uses a wheelchair either. The author handles this very well too. Ava's adventurous spirit quickly earned a way into my heart and I was rooting for her to succeed in her quest. My only complaint for this novel is that sometimes fairly important parts can go by a little too quickly, almost to the point where I needed to go back to reread to make sure I caught it.

Overall, I highly recommend Virtual Rebel: Time To Play The Game For Real by J.Z. Pitts for fans of Ready Player One or Armada both by Ernest Cline, Warcross by Marie Lu, and maybe even The Matrix. I think you will have a lot of fun getting to know Pitts' characters and worlds.


My review is also on Reedsy Discovery and Goodreads.

Comments

  1. I do enjoy VR stories, especially Ready Player One, so I might like this too😁

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'd love to know what you think about it if you try it Tammy!

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Wishes 2024

Top Ten Tuesday: Book Boyfriends

Top Ten Tuesday: Books on My Summer 2024 TBR