Skip to main content

The Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings): Alif the Unseen by G. Willow Wilson + 50/50 Friday




On Friday's I take part in three weekly link ups - The Friday 56, hosted by Freda's Voice, Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader, and 50/50 Friday is a new weekly link up and it is hosted by Carrie @ The Butterfly Reader and Laura @ Blue Eye Books. For The Friday 56, you choose a book, a book you have just finished, a book you are about to start, your current read, and share a line or a few lines that grab you (but don't spoil anything) from page 56 or 56% of the way through the ebook. Post it and share your post's url on Freda's most recent Friday 56 post. As for Book Beginnings, you share the first sentence or so and your initial thoughts, impressions, or whatever else it inspires, and then link up your post's url with Rose City Reader. Then, for 50/50 Friday, every week there's a new topic featuring two sides of the same coin - you share a book that suits each category and link up on the hosts blogs.


This week I'm spotlighting one of my current Winter Bookish Bingo reads (it will fulfill the features tech square), Alif the Unseen by G. Willow WilsonI'm glad to finally have the opportunity to read my first full length novel Wilson.  I've heard it recommended for fans of Neal Stephenson and The Thousand and One Nights - and so far I'd agree with that.

Beginning: 

Chapter Zero

Persia
Long Ago

The thing always appeared in the hour between sunset and full dark.

56:

Abdullah was pacing back and forth across the interior of Radio Sheikh when Alif arrived.

50/50 Friday: Favorite/ Least Favorite Read Of January


Least - The Warrior Maiden (Hagenheim #9) by Melanie Dickerson - Unfortunately, this story featuring Mulan just didn't work out for me.


Favorite - An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason by Virginia Boeker - I'm so glad I just happened to pick this one up from the library!  It's like Mackenzi Lee wrote A Knight's Tale, plus a great dose of William Shakespeare.  I can't recommend it enough!

What are you reading this weekend?  Have you read any of these books?  As always, thanks for visiting my blog and perhaps even commenting down below!

Comments

  1. The simple cover intrigues me, as do the excerpts. I hope you enjoy it.

    My Friday 56 from Match Me If You Can

    ReplyDelete
  2. An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason sounds really good, I'm going to have to see if my library has it!

    Thanks for linking up!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've seen An Assassin's Guide around a lot and my immediate reaction was it reminded me of a Mackenzi Lee book. Glad you enjoyed it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Alif sounds like a great read. I might have to look for it at my library.
    It's still a bummer that Warrior Maiden wasn't enjoyable. The synopsis sounds great.
    I might also have to look for Assassin's Guide at my library too.
    My Friday: Marie @ Pages to Explore

    ReplyDelete
  5. The Assassins guide sounds like a hoot.
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm curious for more!! Happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Radio Sheikh? That makes me curious for more. I'm featuring The Military Wife by Laura Trentham from my review stack this week. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't read anything by G. Willow Wilson, but I need to change that.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I have enjoyed a couple of Virginia Boecker's books, but haven't heard of An Assassin's Guide to Love and Treason. That sounds like a lot of fun. I will have to look for it. It's too bad about The Warrior Maiden.

    I hope you have a great weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  10. An Assassin's Guide sounds right up my alley (really, anything with assassin in the title is)! And it's historical fiction too? Definitely going on my TBR. Thanks for linking up, Lauren!

    Laura @BlueEyeBooks

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings): Unshapely Things (Connor Grey #1) by Mark Del Franco

ARC Mini Reviews: The Three Locks, Litany of Dreams, & Malice

Trope-ical Readathon - Team Science Fiction/ Fantasy Wrap Up & Mini Reviews