Skip to main content

The Inheritance Games (The Inheritance Games #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes - Blog Tour, ARC Review, & Giveaway



I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE INHERITANCE GAMES by Jennifer Lynn Barnes Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway! Thanks for visiting my leg of this blog tour!

About the Book:
Title: THE INHERITANCE GAMES (The Inheritance Games #1)
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Pub. Date: September 1, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook
Pages: 384

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why--or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch--and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

My review:

❋ ❋ ❋ 

I received an ARC from NetGalley via Rockstar Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.

The Inheritance Games (The Inheritance Games #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes is an unputdownable twisty YA mystery thriller. I'll admit it, I couldn't say no to this new release when I heard it compared to Knives Out. It's one of my favorite movies so my expectations for this series opener were, needless to say, sky high. Luckily for me, it hit most of the right notes. My favorite aspect was getting to know all the characters. The Hawthornes are all so well drawn and each one has a unique voice that makes them stand out from the crowd, and Avery herself was pretty great. I also enjoyed solving the puzzles and exploring the house alongside Avery that was very cool and it's also quite visual which is a treat. The only two things I wasn't quite as enamored by was the romance (I could have totally done without that aspect) and the somewhat unevenly paced chapter breaks. Overall, though, I would highly recommend this to fans of Knives OutOne of Us is Lying by Karen McManus, Agatha Christie, and Daphne Du Maurier. I can't wait to see where this series is going to go, and I'm going to have to try more from Jennifer Lynn Barnes in the future.



My review is also on Goodreads.


About Jennifer: 

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) is the author of more than a dozen critically acclaimed young adult novels. She has advanced degrees in psychology, psychiatry, and cognitive science, including graduate degrees from Cambridge University, where she was a Fulbright Scholar, and Yale University, where she received her Ph.D. in 2012. Jen wrote her first published novel when she was nineteen-years-old and sold her first five books while still in college. In additional to writing YA novels, Jen has also written original pilot scripts for television networks like USA and MTV, and she is one of the world's leading experts on the psychology of fandom and the cognitive science of fiction and the imagination more broadly. Jen is an Associate Professor at the University of Oklahoma, where she holds a dual appointment in Psychology and Professional Writing.



Giveaway Details:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of THE INHERITANCE GAMES, US Only.



Tour Schedule
Week One:
8/17/2020
Spotlight
8/17/2020
Spotlight
8/18/2020
Review
8/18/2020
Spotlight
8/19/2020
Spotlight
8/19/2020
Review
8/20/2020
Interview
8/20/2020
Review
8/21/2020
Review
8/21/2020
Review

Week Two:
8/24/2020
Review
8/24/2020
Review
8/25/2020
Review
8/25/2020
Review
8/26/2020
Review
8/26/2020
Review
8/27/2020
Review
8/27/2020
Review
8/28/2020
Spotlight
8/28/2020
Review

Comments

  1. I have not seen Knives Out, but I love McManus' books and I have enjoyed many other books by Barnes. I do love the idea of a mystery inheritance and puzzles, puzzles everywhere.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have a feeling this would be right up your alley, Sam!

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Friday 56 (With Book Beginnings): Master Assassins (The Fire Sacrament #1) by Robert V.S. Redick

Top Ten Tuesday: Books On My Fall 2021 TBR

The Nightmare Before Christmas Book Tag